Formula E: Accelerate 2021

  • Start Date:
  • End Date:
  • Type:
    Online Invite
  • Prize Pool:
  • Game
    rFactor 2
  • Host / Series:
    FE: Accelerate
Photo credit:

Formula E: Accelerate takes virtual takes the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship to the next level. After the Race At Home Challenge in 2020, this format expands on Formula E's esports ambitions, bringing together sim and real-life racers in a six-race competition on rFactor 2.

24 sim racers will compete against each other for a chance at a minimum $100,000 prize pool and a drive in real life Formula E car. Besides professional sim racers such as F1 Esports Pro Series 2020 champion Jarno Opmeer, F1 Esports runner-up Frede Rasmussen and Dutch esports racing legend Bono Huis, also real-life racers such as ADAC GT Master champion Kelvin van der Linde will take the field.

Find the live stream and all information on the event on our dedicated Formula E: Accelerate page.


For the first time in virtual Formula E history, racers will have 'Attack Mode' available. This feature is comparable to ERS or Overtake in F1 2020. For a temporary amount of time, the Formula E car will exceed the power output and get faster. This could make racing a lot close and bring us a lot of excitement over the races.

Every round will consist of a hotlap qualifying and a 25-minute race. The last race awards double the point. In five round, the drivers will battle each other in the Gen-2 series cars of Formula E.

The points will be distributed under the Grand Prix system just like in the real world Formula E championship. The complete distribution is:


An additional point will be awarded to the pole sitter and the fastest lap of the race.


The Formula E: Accelerate series will hold six events, with the final event providing double points. The schedule looks as follows:

Round 1January 28, 8 PM CET
Round 2Febuary 4, 8 PM CET
Round 3Febuary 11, 8 PM CET
Round 4March 11, 8 PM CET
Round 5March 18, 8 PM CET
Grand FinalMarch 25, 8 PM CET

Live streams & VoDs

A live stream of the races will always be shown on the ABB Formula E YouTube channel.

Participants and Teams

Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler: Kelvin van der Linde, Manuel Biancolilla

BMW i Andretti Motorsport: Kevin Siggy, Petar Brljak

DRAGON / PENSKE AUTOSPORT: Peyo Peev, Frede Rasmussen

DS TECHEETAH: Arthur Lehouck, Nikodem Wisniewski

Envision Virgin Racing: Graham Carroll, Timea Bencsik

Jaguar Racing: Martin Stefanko, Jakub Brzezinski

Mahindra Racing: Lucas Müller, Olli Pahkala

Mercedes-Benz EQ: Bono Huis, Jarno Opmeer

NIO 333: Jiayu Zhang, Risto Kappet

Nissan e.dams: Jan von der Heyde, Marc Gassner

ROKiT Venturi Racing: Lorenz Hoerzing, Erhan Jajovski

TAG Heuer Porsche: Marius Golombeck, Jaroslav 'Jardier' Honzik

Amongst those who have qualified are some serious names. Last year's F1 Esports Pro Series champion Jarno Opmeer and team champion Frede Rasmussen are present. South african racing sensation Kelvin van der Linde will take a spot in the field as well. The real-life racer has collected plenty of experience in the ADAC-GT Masters and in endurance racing.

Our main man for Assetto Corsa Competizione Tutorials Jaroslav 'Jardier' Honzik is also part of the field. He will compete for the TAG Heuer Porsche Team.

A lot of rFactor 2 prominency will clash in the event as well. Worlds-Fastest-Gamer participant Erhan Jajovski and Polish sim racer Nikodem Wisniewski will also take a seat in the virtual Formula E car.
Report a bug