Formula E: Accelerate

Formula E: Accelerate

Racing series brings best drivers from both worlds together
Formula E: Accelerate is the latest link between the esports racing scene and real-world driving. In six races, the 24 participants – including real racers, notable sim racers, influencer and aspiring qualifiers – will give their all to determine a champion.

With €100,000 on the line, Formula E: Accelerate is one of the most prestigious and lucrative esports racing events of the year. Accordingly, the competition will be extremely tough and only one lucky person can also claim the special prize on top of the lion’s share of the monetary reward.

What is Formula E?

The ABB FIA Formula E World Championship is a motorsport championship dedicated to electric cars only. The series made its debut in 2014 and is well-known for bringing technological innovation into motorsports. The 12 teams that constitute the current line-up include many notable racing teams such as Mercedes-Benz EQ, Jaguar Racing, and Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler.

With drivers like Porsche racer Pascal Wehrlein, Brazilian Formula E legend Lucas di Grassi and ex-Formula 1 competitor Stoffel Vandoorne, the series also boast big names in terms of people behind the wheel. Reigning champion Felix da Costa drove a phenomenal season, finishing more than 70 points ahead of Vandoorne.

Okay, but what’s Formula E: Accelerate?

Formula E: Accelerate is an official esports racing series featuring all 12 teams from the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship. After the ABB Formula E Race At Home Challenge in 2020, this is the second digital iteration of Formula E and the first one with the status as an esports world championship. The rFactor 2 tournament lets 24 drivers from the real world and esports racing scene compete for at least €100,000 and a ride in a real-world Gen2 car.

Three racers have qualified over a special event on rFactor 2: For one week, players could try their hand on the Berlin Tempelhof E-Prix circuit. The three entrants with the fastest laps have been invited to compete in Formula E: Accelerate. It is especially noteworthy that the 24 fastest qualifiers were just split seconds apart.

In the end two-time F1 Esports silver medalist Frede Rasmussen, rFactor 2 GT Pro Series champion Erhan Jajovski and F1 Esports driver Manuel Biancolilla did just split seconds better than the rest of the field. In the main event, the three are going to take on 21 equally talented and experienced drivers. Notable participants include South African racer Kelvin van der Linde, F1 Esports Pro Series 2020 champion Jarno Opmeer and content creator Jaroslav 'Jardier' Honzik.

Teams and Drivers

Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler: Kelvin van der Linde,

BMW i Andretti Motorsport: Kevin Siggy, Petar Brljak

DRAGON / PENSKE AUTOSPORT: Peyo Peev, Frede Rasmussen

DS TECHEETAH: Arthur Lehouck, Nikodem Wisniewski

Envision Virgin Racing: Graham Carroll, Timea Bencsik

Jaguar Racing: Martin Stefanko, Jakub Brzezinski

Mahindra Racing: Lucas Müller, Olli Pahkala

Mercedes-Benz EQ: Bono Huis, Jarno Opmeer

NIO 333: Jiayu Zhang, Risto Kappet

Nissan e.dams: Jan von der Heyde, Marc Gassner

ROKiT Venturi Racing: Lorenz Hoerzing, Erhan Jajovski

TAG Heuer Porsche: Marius Golombeck, Jaroslav 'Jardier' Honzik

Live Stream


Round 1January 28, 2021, 8 PM CET
Round 2February 4, 2021, 8 PM CET
Round 3February 11, 2021, 8 PM CET
Round 4March 11, 2021, 8 PM CET
Round 5March 18, 2021, 8 PM CET
Grand FinalMarch 25, 2021, 8 PM CET

Find a more detailed overview of the tournament on our dedicated Formula E: Accelerate coverage page.

All about Formula E: Accelerate

Report a bug