Ottinger wins dramatic eNASCAR race

Ottinger wins dramatic eNASCAR race


A spectacular finish in Wednesday’s eNASCAR race locked Nick Ottinger into the Championship 4.

Photo Credit: eNASCAR/iRacing

The 2020 eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series has found its second finalist. After Bobby Zalenski’s triumph on the Charlotte Motor Speedway in round one of the playoffs, Nick Ottinger from William Byron eSports managed to win the second round of the virtual Kansas Speedway on iRacing on Tuesday night (US time).

Although Ottinger started in pole position, Denny Hamlin Racing’s Keegan Leahy dominated the race by leading 85 laps in total. But due to a yellow flag with only seven rounds left and a spin later on, Leahy finished in 32nd place. While being worst-case for Leahy, the events gave Nick Ottinger the chance for a spectacular comeback. After two overtimes, the Chevrolet driver managed to come out on top in Kansas.

With Zalenski and Ottinger being locked into the Championship 4, only two spots remain for the championship finale on Homestead-Miami Speedway on November 1. The last playoff round will take place on the virtual Texas Motor Speedway next Wednesday, October 27, at 9 PM ET (October 28, 3 AM CEST). The winner of next week’s race will qualify for the eNASCAR championship finale alongside the driver with the most points in the standings.

After the first two playoff rounds, Jimmy Mullis (2080 points) and Ryan Michael Luza (2076 points) have the best chances to reach the Championship 4 by gaining the highest score.

Which driver is your favorite to win the eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series? Tell us on Twitter @Overtake_gg!

Creating a brand-new platform for esports racing comes from a necessity the community was lacking. Because esports racing has taken the whole world, it deserves a proper stage to shine. With fans all over the globe, OverTake is here to unite them all in one place – a bold move that we’re up to achieve together with the community.