Join RaceDepartment’s Formula Racing League
Images: rFactor 2

Join RaceDepartment’s Formula Racing League

rFactor 2

A new sim racing series, Formula Racing League begins in March for the RaceDepartment community with a live stream on Twitch.

Formula Racing League will usher in a new form of league racing for the RaceDepartment community.

On rFactor 2 with the epic Formula Pro single-seater, six rounds at some of the world’s greatest racetracks will ultimately determine the inaugural champion.

The entry list will be limited to 30 drivers, with sign-ups on a first-come, first-served, basis.

Each round will feature a practice session followed by a 10-minute qualifying session and a ~60-70-minute race uniquely divided into three stages.

rFactor 2 Formula Pro Formula Racing League RaceDepartment

Dynamic weather will be enabled, alongside a requirement to pit at least once at some point during the in-between stage caution periods.

There will also be broadcast live on the RaceDepartment Twitch channel for the community to follow the action. 

The Formula Pro is a fictionalised contemporary open-wheel formula-style car with a difference. Instead of hybrid powertrains, imagine a present-day machine with a naturally aspirated V10 engine revving to 18,000 rpm. Push-to-pass will be enabled, while DRS will be omitted. 

It will culminate in a playoff championship finale, with results throughout the season determining who is in the mix. 

rFactor 2 Formula Pro Formula Racing League

The venues, including the likes of Road America, Spa Francorchamps and Istanbul Park, are a mixture of DLC and rFactor 2 workshop mods. The full schedule is below while more detailed information and regulations sit on our forum

Sign-ups begin on 19th February, ahead of the first race on 4th March 2024. 

UPDATE: Sign-ups are now live!

Think you’ve got what it takes to handle the V10 beast and compete in our league? Be sure to sign up, and if you have any questions, leave them in the comments below. 

Formula Racing League 2024 season schedule 

  • 04 March: Silverstone 
  • 18 March: Monza 
  • 01 April: Istanbul Park 
  • 15 April: Spa Francorchamps 
  • 29 April: Road Atlanta 
  • 13 May: Road America