Autosport Awards announce first ever esports category

Autosport Awards announce first ever esports category

The annual Autosport Awards will crown the best esports driver of the year for the first time.

Photo credit: imago images / Motorsport Images

Esports racing is all about being the fastest. But who was the strongest individual driver in 2020? The Autosport Awards will determine which personality delivered the most outstanding performance: they have added the category Esports Driver of the Year to their annual award show.

Prestige, prizes and popularity

The event is hosted by motorsports magazine Autosport which celebrates its 70th birthday this year. While it traditionally takes place in the Grosvenor House hotel, Park Lane, the current edition has to be turned into an online celebration. The winners will be selected by a mix of the results of a popular vote and by a panel of experts, including Autosport journalists.

Autosport has hosted the award show annually since 1982 and crowns special drivers and happenings in the world of motorsports in several different categories, such as: International Racing Driver of the Year, Moment of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Racing Car of the Year and International Rally Driver of the Year.

The list of winners features some of the most prestigious names in the world of motorsports. Formula 1 legends like Ayrton Senna, Michael Schumacher and Lewis Hamilton have been honored in the past. Rally icon Colin McRae scored in several categories, the W Series was praised for their initiative to support female racers, and rookie talents like Alex Albon, Lando Norris and Max Verstappen received early recognition.

Who is the best esports driver?

As esports racing has been booming during the pandemic and slowly establishes itself as an important branch of the motorsports scene, Autosport has added the category Esports Driver of the Year for 2020. The nominees are not yet known, but once the vote goes live, subscribers to the magazine will be able to cast their vote for their favorite candidate online. The winners will be announced in December.

For updates and more information on the award show, head over to the official homepage of Autosport.

Fluff: even if you were unfamiliar with the Autosport Awards until now, there is a high chance that you’ve witnessed one of the show’s most iconic moments: Sebastian Vettel impersonating Kimi Räikkönen. The speech by the Formula 1 legend went viral and we hope that this year’s online edition is just as entertaining – featuring the first esports driver in this event.

Who would you vote for as Esports Driver of the Year? Tell us on Twitter at @overtake_gg!