Unifi Dream Machine

Paul Glover

I talk lots
As with these days when you sign up for internet with a provider you get their bundled router, depending on your needs they might be fine for you. With as many connected devices that I have these days (and growing) I found myself rebooting my router fairly regularly, mainly because the internet would appear to stop or my Sonos speakers stopped working.

Previously I have often purchased a new router, not quite budget, but mid-range. Which would do a better job and provide me some more advanced firewall options, but not much more. I even dabbled with the odd Draytek.

From afar I have been admiring Ubquiti Wifi devices for a couple of years, then got talking with someone I worked with who had taken the plunge and spent a few pounds on their kit. Because of this and what he showed me I decided I wanted to join him, but before I pulled the trigger they went and released this in the USA: https://eu.store.ui.com/products/unifi-dream-machine

So I waited and come December I finally managed to order one, a week or so later it arrived and I haven't looked back.

i now have all this data, I can see what is doing what and will alert any devices doing something it shoudn't. But the best thing is being able to have devices on different ethernet or wireless networks, my IOT devices have been split away from my main devices by being on a seperate VLAN. They can still reach the internet when required, but they have been blocked from reaching other networks that I have.

Another big selling point is it's reliability, I have powered it down after making changes etc but it's been 50 days since it was last restarted. I'd be lucky if a basic router could reach that! Also, it's wireless range and features are top notch.

I know this isn't your typical computer hardware, but your router is at the heart of your internet and I wanted to share my experience.

There are some great videos on Youtube if you want further info.